5 things I love about London

Only three days until I fly across the pond to attempt to settle in Washington, DC. I feel like this two-month stay in London just flew by! I’ve grown quite fond of this city and feel very privileged to have been able to experience a slice of British life.

~~

As a special hommage, here are 5 things I particularly enjoyed about London (I am not counting obvious things such as Kensington Garden, shortbread biscuits, free museums etc…) With a little help from the talented photographers on Flickr:

~~

Dans trois jours on quitte Londres et on s’installe à Washington, DC. Voici 5 choses qui me manqueront particulièrement (bon, je ne compte pas Kensington Garden, les shortbreads, les musées GRATUITS, le charme des petites rues so british et tout et tout…) Jolies photos trouvées sur Flickr.

~~

~~

#5:

Disappearing London (3), by Gervaulx

"Disappearing London (3)," by Gervaulx

~

The courteous and sympathetic British police officers who found my wallet (including my GREEN CARD! *That* was a scare.) just a couple of days after it was stolen by a pickpocket. I was amazed at how nice and thorough they were, even for such a “minor” crime. Thank you!!!

~~

Eh oui! Les gentils policiers qui ont été super gentils et pros quand on m’a volé mon portefeuille, et me l’ont retrouvé en 2 jours!! (il y avait tous mes papiers dedans, y compris ma carte verte… ça aurait été une galère sans nom de repartir aux US sans…) Bon faut dire que quand on vit aux US, on apprécie les policiers gentils et polis…

~~

~~

#4:

David Suchet / Poirot by Holypug

David Suchet / Poirot by Holypug

~

The fact that EVERYDAY on British TV there are Agatha Christie adaptations starring the great David Suchet as Hercule Poirot. My love for the little Belgian (“NOT French”) detective started many, many years ago.

In fact, my mother finally “weaned” me off bedtime stories at the ripe old age of 8 by reading me half of an Agatha Christie novel, which I then had to finish by myself if I wanted to know “whoddunit.”

~

Quand on a, comme moi, grandi avec Hercule Poirot, on est vraiment, mais alors super contente quand ils passent des adaptations de romans d’Agatha Christie en boucle à la télé!!!

~~

~~

#3:

Mystery Yellow Woman at Spitalfield by Pit Van Meeffe

Mystery Yellow Woman at Spitalfield by Pit Van Meeffe

~

The quirky yet classic elegance of many Londoners. Love the tailored coats, feminine shoes, cardigans over liberty dresses, crazy colors.

~

L’élégance décalée de beaucoup de Londonien(ne)s. Le savant mélange entre le côté classique intemporel et les couleurs/accessoires totallement inattendus.

~~~


~~

#2:

Cardinal Humes Charity Shop by Canis Major

Cardinal Hume's Charity Shop by Canis Major

~

Charity Shops: in a city as expensive as London, there’s got to be a trick to getting cool stuff for less. In the case of charity shops, MUCH less. They are everywhere, and the prices are usually really reasonable.

~~

Heureusement qu’ils sont là, ces charity shops, parce que dans une ville aussi chère que Londres, où est-ce qu’on trouverait des supers fringues et babioles pour presque rien?

~~~

~~~

#1:

Liberty Stack by Ravenhill Designs

Liberty Stack by Ravenhill Designs

~

Libertyyyyyyyyy!!!!

Thanks to the web, I discovered where one should buy one’s supply of Liberty while in London. For about half of the usual price (actually, much less if you only need bits).

~~

Grâce à quelques petites recherches sur internet, j’ai maintenant de nouveaux fournisseurs de Liberty à moitié prix (ou moins si on se satisfait de petits coupons)

4 thoughts on “5 things I love about London

  1. Hé oui! London, c’est fini, ça y est, je suis à Washington… Maintenant il ne reste plus qu’à trouver une maison!

  2. Rhooo quel changement! C’est bien tu vas pouvoir vivre les élections de l’intérieur!! hihihi
    Bonnes recherches pour ta maison on attends les photos! ;-)

  3. Thanks for sharing these…i studied for a semester in northern England back in ’99, and I miss it all the time. Also, your little booties have inspired me. I like to knit and sew, but always take on bigger projects than my busy life can handle. Thanks for the reminder to, as Mother Teresa might say had she been a crafter, “stitch small things with great love!”

Leave a Reply

