A trip down Memory Lane

Here are a couple things i’ve sewed and knit in the past and given away to friends for new babies:

baby-booties.jpg
The (free) pattern for these can be found here. They are super-duper easy to knit, and really quite adorable. This particular pair went to Elise, whose mom has a great blog here

dsc_0035.jpg
These were so easy to make, I found a tutorial here. I happened to have a scrap of Japanese print cotton, and I thought it would be fun to have a face on each foot. I made these for Dil, Gabe’s nephew, as he was just starting to walk, and he wore them to death.
Here’s the back, and i’m not sure it’s visible but the sole was this purple faux-suede that was furry on the other side, so the inside of the shoe was quite cozy, perfect for little baby feet. The only thing I modified was the sole – the pattern makes for a very wide toe area, so i had to take the fabric in a bit.

dsc_0037.jpg

3 thoughts on “A trip down Memory Lane

  1. I just discovered you blog–but I love these!! so adorable. I’m also totally interested in the japanese pattern books and can’t wait to see what you make from them. I’ve never actually sewn from a pattern (only winged it) so I wonder if I’d be able to do it…

  2. Hey there! This post couldn’t be written any better! Reading through this post reminds me of my good old room mate! He always kept chatting about this. I will forward this article to him. Fairly certain he will have a good read. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

