Tackling French patterns

I’m spending the rest of the year in France to be with my grandmother who is very ill. I thought that a good way to take my mind off things, aside from doing actual work, would be to knit a few things while I’m here, so I brought with me about a third of my stash.

I had planned to make the pea pod baby set but of course i’m running into supercute baby patterns here – I bought 2 Bergère de France magazines: this one and this one – but i’m having trouble matching the yarn I already have to the patterns I like. I started a pair of booties with straight needles (US size 2) and need to switch to corresponding dpns, which I don’t have with me. The needle conversion can be tricky. I found a table here, so i’m going to bring it to a yarn store and hopefully come out with the right size dpns, *without* going nuts and buying lots of yarn. What are the chances of this scenario actually happening?

Leave a Reply

