Green dogs and Liberty

I just had one of those amazing experiences, it literally felt like a dream. Now that I’ve recovered from the shock, I’m ready to share the info: there exists in Brussels a gem of a fabric store. I thought that Michael Levine’s was plentiful, but now I realize I was sadly mistaken. For all of the nice fabrics you can find at ML’s, they pale in comparison to what you can find at Les Tissus du Chien Vert
The place itself is crazy. So grand and amazing, you feel like you’ve entered a new dimension: hardwood floors, wooden beams, bridges, hanging boats (yes, boats), rooms opening into more rooms, with huge ceilings and lofts. And in every corner, fabrics so gorgeous that you could just frame and display them as art.

This particular sub-store is called “Le Chien du Chien,” a sort of pun (Belgians love them) based on two expressions: “avoir du chien” (meaning to have guts, to be sexy and to have charm, all at once) and “le fin du fin” (meaning “the absolute must,” or “the cat’s whiskers). So that’s the store where they display all their most beautiful things.

They also have another store down the street, just as big and filled up to the brim. That one has slightly less glamorous fabrics, but my jaw still dropped. And they have a section in there called “Les Puces du Chien” (another pun, as “les puces” means “fleas” as well as “flea-market.”)

After this brief exploration of French expressions and Belgian-isms, the main news is that I have acquired some genuine Liberty (technically a Christmas present from my mom) at about half price! Everyone here in Brussels seems to consider Le Chien Vert as an expensive place, but seriously! It was half price and they were exciting patterns, not the so-so Liberty you sometimes find on sale.

liberty.jpg

Pretty, no? I bought small quantities, to make little things until I get better at sewing, then I’ll ask my mom to ship me more fabric.

I also bought a couple of yards of pretty and very fine cotton prints to make some shirts for myself. The colors are not really accurate: the brown one is actually a beautiful purplish-brown. I really wish I had a competent photographer here, I really suck at taking nice pictures, and the winter light is not really helping either.

tissuschemise.jpg

One thought on “Green dogs and Liberty

  1. Bon sang, Le Chien Vert, c’est vrai, il faut absolument que j’y aille. Enfin, non. Non non non; il vaut absolument mieux que j’y aille pas😉
    Ta petite chemise retro en vichy noir et blanc est adorable! Et un très joli hommage à ta grand-maman.
    Amitiés de Bruxelles !

Leave a Reply

