Orange Mohair is a good thing

I’ve had 7-8 balls of this orangey-red mohair in my stash for about a year now, and I haven’t been able to decide what I should do with it. The mohair has been reminding me of its presence whenever I’m about to start a new project, taunting me with flashes of orange fluff everytime I open the yarn bin, and I’ve been developing guilty feelings toward it (it was a present from my mom).

The thing is, I’m not usually a big fan of “hairy” yarns, and I had this idea that mohair wouldn’t be fun to knit, and let’s be honest, I just couldn’t picture myself wearing a mohair sweater.

Until… I went to the Belgian city of Gand (which is a beautiful, beautiful place to visit by the way) and while checking out a LYS, I saw the store lady knitting with something that looked a lot like my orange mohair (turns out it was the same exact yarn). She explained that she was making another shrug just like the one she was wearing… which was actually pretty cozy and funky-looking. When she offered to write down the pattern for me, I knew it was meant to be. Ok, so the pattern is in Flemish (Dutch, basically) but I’ve been able to figure it out so far, as it’s a very simple pattern. And mohair isn’t all that bad to knit with, really, I think the shrug will turn out ok in the end.
orangemohair.jpg
Here’s a sneak peek… Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

