FO: Elijah!

This little guy is supposed to be a gift for Dil but I can’t seem to part with him just yet… I keep putting the jacket on, taking it off, arranging his ears, squishing his belly… What can I say, I’m in love!

Since I’m moving soon, I’m all about destashing these days, so I decided to use up the last bit of green yarn that I had… And I thought pink feet and hands would be a cute mod. Then I still hadn’t had enough of this pattern, so I started freestyling a jacket for him to wear. Now I understand why a lot of people go nuts making doll clothing… So much fun!

Here are the specs for my Elijah:

Pattern: Elijah by Ysolda Teague (purchase the pattern on her website here or on Ravelry)

Yarn: Knit Picks Swish (a little less than 2 balls), Online Linie 146 Montana for jacket (1 ball)

Needles: US 4 dpns

Time to complete: about 5 days

Mods: none except for the colored feet and hands.

I think the pattern is very well written, very clear. The important thing is to make sure you’re knitting a tight fabric, especially for the head — my stitches around the trunk are a little stretched out and you can see the filling underneath. I think the pattern is straightforward but lots is happening so it’s a lot of fun. If you’re relatively new at knitting it’s a good pattern to challenge yourself with all kinds of techniques: increases, descreases, knitting on dpns, picking up stitches, short rows etc.

The ears seemed a little trickier than the rest, but that’s just because i still have apprehensions about short rows.

All in all, a wonderful pattern, which I recommend highly!

4 thoughts on “FO: Elijah!

  1. OMGosh I LOVE this little guy, no wonder you are having trouble parting with him. I just crocheted an elephant. It looks kinda tricky to make.
    Vicki

Leave a Reply

