FO: Punky Brewster skirt

For some reason this skirt reminds me of Punky Brewster, the main character of this show I used to watch in the 80s. She was this sassy kid who was really into super bright colors and mismatched shoes…

This skirt marks the end of a long sewing hiatus. I’m not too confident about my sewing skills yet, and I think I got Fabric Paralysis, like when you just stare at all this great fabric in your stash, and it’s just too much pressure, as if there was no way you could live up to it?

Anyway, the fabric is a thrift store purchase I’ve been meaning to use for a while. It’s got this great texture, kind of like seersucker, and of course I loved the glorious green color, which is really hard to photograph by the way…

So I sort of made this skirt as I went along, without a pattern. It’s really very simple but I’m really happy about how it turned out and how it fits (in spite of the bad job on the zipper!). I love that it’s so colorful and invigorating.

4 thoughts on “FO: Punky Brewster skirt

  1. That is awesome! I love the puckery texture and the green too. Color me impressed that you did this without a pattern! I really haven’t been real successful with bottoms, so I’ve been sticking to the tops, as you can see. Thanks for your encouragement in that dept, BTW!

  2. There is a real Punky Brewster. Punky’s real name is Peyton Brewster. She is a direct descendant of William Brewster! She is the distant cousin of Brewster Color inventor Percy Douglas Brewster!

Leave a Reply

