Self-designed Holly(wood)berry top

Not easy to take decent photos when Gabe is nowhere in sight!

Not easy to take decent photos when Gabe is nowhere in sight!

Taking this picture was *much* harder than it looks!

Taking this picture was *much* harder than it looks!

Hello, this is my boob

Hello, this is my boob

~~

Bon, je sais ce que vous allez me dire, ce top n’est pas vraiment de saison, mais BON. Los Angeles me manque, alors j’ai fait un truc un peu glamour/Hollywood. J’ai même mis des boutons un peu Art Déco, noirs avec des strass au milieu.

~~

Au niveau de la construction, j’ai tricoté le torse en rond avec des diminutions à la taille pour qu’il soit bien ajusté. Puis j’ai fait le haut en deux parties symetriques que j’ai ensuite cousues au bas. Et c’est là que je ferais les choses différemment si c’était à refaire: j’ai vraiment vu trop grand pour le haut, et ça fronce un peu trop à la jonction avec le bas. Pour ce qui est des bretelles, c’est du point de riz tout bête.

~~

Voilà, et comme la laine (un mélange coton/modal) tient son nom de la jolie couleur qu’ont les baies du houx, j’ai appelé ma création Hollyberry Top. Comme ça, ça passe mieux au niveau marketing, héhé!

~~

~~

I know, I know, this top isn’t really in season… Maybe it’s because I miss California. I thought this top had a bit of a Hollywood/glam flavor, so I added some “Art Deco” style buttons with rhinestones on them.

~~

As far as the construction, the torso is knit in the round with a few decreases to get an adjusted fit. The top part is made out of two symmetrical panels, which I then sewed onto the seed stitch edging of the torso. The straps are also in seed stitch.I’m quite happy with this top, the only thing I would modify if I were to make another version, is that I would make the breast panels smaller in width and length. The fabric is bound to stretch, and I’m not crazy about the shirring that I got at the junction with the bottom part. But this is an easy enough fix.

~~

I named this top after the yarn I used, Knitpicks Shine Worsted in Hollyberry. How’s that, for a seasonal tie-in!

~~

dsc_01391 dsc_0142

~~

7 thoughts on “Self-designed Holly(wood)berry top

  1. I absolutely love love love your design. The restro style always does so much for the body, don’t you think? Please make this pattern available!!!! It’s gorgeous.

  2. So cute! You’re right, it definitely has that old Hollywood look. I hope you will make this pattern available on Ravelry or on your blog…I’d love to knit one for my daughter.

Leave a Reply

