Coming home outfit

So… I had mentioned that I needed to get you all caught up on what’s happening in my neck of the woods. This should partly explain my long silence, too!

As you’ve probably guessed from the title of this post, we are expecting Baby #2, a baby girl!! She should arrive sometime in September. I’ve already knit a few things, including this little outfit:

newbornoutfit

The crossover cardigan is an improvisation, it turned out quite small, a true newborn size. I’m happy with the contrasting i-cord edging, that was fun to do and gives it a nice “finished” look I think. I also had the perfect tiny vintage buttons for this project.

For the pants, I meant to follow the Balloon Baby Pants pattern but ended up skipping the increases (didn’t want them too “balloon-ey” after all!) and I also did the crotch differently (didn’t understand the directions). I think they turned out way cute, a bit clown-like, but in a good way🙂

As far as the hat, it’s the ubiquitous Aviatrix, which is such a fun and quick little project, especially using the German Short Rows method, which I recommend you google immediately! I did a simple i-cord for the tie instead of the strap and button, because the strap wasn’t the most practical when I made this for Axel, so I always ended up leaving it hanging.

So there you have it, more baby stuff, specifically girl stuff in the pipeline! By the way, any baby name ideas?? Needs to work both in English and French (similar pronunciation if possible)

4 thoughts on “Coming home outfit

  1. Oh, I just stumbled across your ravelry page, admired your cute knits, and moused my way to here…Congratulations! I had a friends in a similar situation (except English/German) and they went for some classics….Emma, Ella, Ava, Anna…at least those are the ones I remember🙂 they went with Emma. So much fun deciding!! Best of luck.

  2. Hello, I just love this outfit you made. Do you have a patter so that I can make one for my grandchilld?
    I’d love to hear back from you,
    Sincerely Ineke knight
    Saskatoon Canada

Leave a Reply

