More Booties

purplebooties.jpg

I was strong at first: I only bought the size 2mm dpns at the “Art et Laine” LYS (there were no needles that exactly match a US size 2 but you can’t really tell the difference) and I used some left over yarn from the Ribbon-Tied Dress (Debbie Bliss Baby Cashmerino) to make these. I did buy the cute bunny buttons, but that was it. I was proud of myself for being so reasonable.

The pattern was from one of the French magazines I bought last week. I was easy enough, and made for very stretchy little booties. I obviously made the mistake of making two identical booties, instead of making the second bootie’s strap on the opposite side, but that is another story. So the baby who will inherit these will have to have two left feet — or is it two right feet?

Of course, once the booties were done, I did go back to the Art et Laine store, cracked under pressure, and bought some delicious yarn, which was reasonable, but not exactly cheap (the Euro is so strong these days.) I’m using it to make a scarf. I don’t want to say too much yet about the exact pattern I’m using, or the yarn itself, as I want it to be a semi-surprise for Gabe (he does know a scarf is coming his way).

2 thoughts on “More Booties

  1. I love the booties. Sorry to hear your grandmother is sick-but you are in France! I guess that means you won’t be at Robbie’s party this Sunday. I am bummed because you will be about the only other person I know and I was looking forward to catching up. I love the French patterns, too bad I can’t translate.

  2. Yes, I was thinking that it was too bad I was going to miss Robby’s party. I’m sure you’ll have fun, maybe Melissa will be there with her little ones?
    Is there a french pattern you like in particular? I could try to translate it for you if you like.

Leave a Reply

